Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to use the Ryobi circular saw to cut 3cm oak?

Meowmi
Finding My Feet

How to use the Ryobi circular saw to cut 3cm oak?

IMG_4881.jpeg

Hi, I am trying to use an 18v Ryobi circular saw to cut pine, but every time I try it, my saw just stops. can someone please help me TAT, I'm new to using power tools. Thank you. 

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: How to use the Ryobi circular saw to cut 3cm oak?

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @Meowmi. We're pleased to have you join us. 

Good for you for learning how to use power tools for the first time.

Let me tag our resident Bunnings D.I.Y. expert @EricL to share some advice with you. Other experienced woodworkers like @r23on@Poppop@JDE and @woodenwookie might also like to join in the discussion.

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Hello @Meowmi 

Congratulations on your first foray into the power tool territory. It appears that you are cutting the timber along its length. This type of cut is called a rip cut, it's important to mark the timber with a pencil guide so that you can keep the saw straight and prevent the blade from wandering. If possible, I also suggest using the "T" guide that came with your saw. It's great way to guide your saw and keep your cut straight.

When doing a rip cut the cut timber behaves like a clamp and presses on to the saw blade as it travels into the timber. I suggest putting a wedge at the beginning of the cut so that it separates the cut pieces. The farther you go into the cut the larger the gap must be. This will stop the timber from pinching the blade and stopping your saw.     

It's also critical that the timber piece be on a flat surface or supported by a minimum of two sawhorses and securely clamped to the work surface. This will prevent the timber from moving and ruining your cut.