Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to secure ply to caravan metal frame?

Olivecaravan24
Getting Established

How to secure ply to caravan metal frame?

I want to use 3mm ply to line interior walls of 1960s caravan as it will bend in the curves.The frame is a metal angle and the roof is timber framed. I'm a novice so what do I use to secure ply to frame?I have used poly Styrofoam for insulation which sits flush behind angle.

JacobZ95
Growing in Experience

Re: caravan reno

Hi @Olivecaravan24,

It is likely that you’d use a combination of glue and screws but without seeing what’s in the caravan it would be hard to say. 

If you could upload some photos I’d certainly be able to help out. 

Cheers,

Jacob 

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @Olivecaravan24. It's marvellous to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about installing wall panelling in a caravan.

It's great to see one of our knowledgeable members, @JacobZ95, is already on the case. I suspect they are likely correct, and button-head metal screws could be used for the fixings. They are self-drilling, so there is no need to pre-drill the metal. As suggested, seeing some images of the space would be great. Do you know how the ply was previously installed? Let me know if you need a hand uploading images.

Let me mention our caravan renovation expert @twocutekelpies to see if they have any thoughts. If you haven't already, please do check out this wonderful three-part guide: How to renovate a caravan.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
twocutekelpies
Making a Splash

Hi @Olivecaravan24