Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to install clothesline with masonry anchor?

barydos
Having an Impact

How to install clothesline with masonry anchor?

Hi

Bit of a silly question, but I'm trying to install the Hills Clothesline: https://www.bunnings.com.au/hills-26m-woodland-grey-single-folding-clothesline_p0170054 but had a question about installing the anchor into the wall. 

This is the current state: 

PXL_20231231_035711193.jpgPXL_20231231_035751623.jpg

From the videos I've seen, they hammer the entire thing through the fixture and into the hole in the wall. But I can't seem to hammer it any further in without hitting the bracket itself. Am I supposed to be able to hammer it in all the way before tightening?

This is my first time using masonry (?) anchors - I'm used to using hollow wall anchors inside the home where the fixture isn't in the way when securing the anchor itself so this is a bit different.

Thanks in advance!

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Installing clothesline with masonry anchor

That's not a silly question at all, @barydos. In fact, I've sat here for five minutes trying to think of what the issue would be. 

Just to confirm what I believe you're stating, it's the sloped bracket that is impeding the bolt going fully home, not that you didn't drill the hole deep enough?

If we presume there is nothing around with the design of the product, then my first thought is that you've placed the holes ever so slightly too close together. In the first image, it appears that the top bolt could have been placed slightly higher, and then the head would have cleared the sloped internal side of the bracket. Have you already tightly done up the bottom fixing? If so, undo it slightly and attempt tapping on the top bolt again. If we are lucky, that might allow the bracket to shift downwards and give you the room you need to install the top fixing.