Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to build a strong queen-size bed with storage space?

akhilsingh
Finding My Feet

How to build a strong queen-size bed with storage space?

Hi Guys,

I am a total newbie in wood work and need your help. I am trying to build a queen size bed which is strong and has some clearance under it for storage (planning to put slider drawers, but that is project for some other time). I am targeting my bed to be 2.1m x 1.7m. My plan is to create two identical rectangular frames, of 1.7m x 1.05m (to increase portability) and join them to complete the bed. I will be putting a thick center wood and slats using thinner wood for additional support. I have attached a very bad drawing of my plan showing the outer rectangle, with center support and slats in one of the rectangle. I am hoping to have a ground clearance of 300mm to 500mm, if that is possible to do (the more the better). I want the bed to be super strong and can have a load bearing capacity of up to 300kgs (not sure if this is even normal for a wooden bed). Since I mentioned I don't have any wood working experience, I am more inclined towards using screws and nuts for joining the bed (this also make it easy to disassemble in future, as compared to glue) rather than creating complicated wood joints (but I am open to suggestions).

I need suggestions about what size and type of wood I can user for the whole structure so that the bed is solid and also does not go crazy on budget. I also need suggestion about the legs, should I create legs out of thick wood (if so how thick does it need to be)? Can I use something like prebuild furniture legs (any recommendations)?

I have no idea around what material to use for what purpose, I would greatly appreciate guidance from you guys.

bed plan.jpg

Thanks a lot.

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to build a strong queen-size bed with storage space?