Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Help mounting cat shelf to wall

catdiy
Finding My Feet

Help mounting cat shelf to wall

Hi everyone, I'm a beginner DIY person and this is my second time trying to drill something into a wall. It didn't work out very well. Does anyone have any pointers on how to keep this nails embedded into my wall, and sturdy enough to support a 5kg cat? The nails for wall mountingThe nails for wall mountingWhat happened after I drilled in the wall for the plastic thing, then screwed in the nailsWhat happened after I drilled in the wall for the plastic thing, then screwed in the nails3.png4.png5.png
Thank you!

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: Help mounting cat shelf to wall

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @catdiy. It's great to have you join us. We trust you'll get loads of inspiration and ideas for upcoming projects from our clever and creative members, as well as plenty of help and support for projects on the go, like this one!

Have you seen the guide How to hang just about anything by @Adam_W? It should be really helpful for you with this project. Have a read and let us know if you have any more specific questions. 

Let me also tag a couple of helpful members in @TedBear and @Brad to see how they would go about securing this shelf.

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
TedBear
Kind of a Big Deal

Hi @catdiy 

the wall plugs shown in your photos do not look like those that are shown on the packaging, as being supplied for the job.

The packaging shows plugs that are threaded all the way up, whereas those used look like they may be designed for biting into brick. There is nothing to grip the plaster board as they pass through it and anything that would spread out inside the wall looks like it may be too far inside the wall to be effective.