Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Whole home low budget slow refresh

BoeingFan
Becoming a Leader

Whole home low budget slow refresh

Home Sweet Home!Home Sweet Home!So I'm about to take on a little cottage in the middle of nowhere to be near family, and I'm beside myself with excitement about all the stuff we can do to freshen her up. I've never done any reno stuff before, but a lick of paint is always a great place to start. Bunnings, here I come!

P.S. I'm still trying to work out how to add an image to this post!

BoeingFan
Becoming a Leader

Repair and Regrow Grass After Septic Excavation

Hi All,

I've recently had a septic system installed, and have been left with a kind of moon scape backyard from all the excavation. It used to be a lovely lawn, and I'm wondering if there is a spray on lawn seed available to replant and regrow the grass over the exposed bare dirt?

Thanks,

Jason

This is just one bare patch, I have others!This is just one bare patch, I have others!

Dave-1
Home Improvement Guru

Re: Repair and Regrow Grass After Septic Excavation

Afternoon @BoeingFan 

If you find soem I would love to know as well :smile: My golf grass (seeded) lasted until the first hint of summer then gonesky. Can you maybe out make use of part of it as a pathway and garden bed that berm ? or heap up the clay for another berm and find some resonable top soil to replace it?

Nice septic system btw :smile:

Dave

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Hello @BoeingFan 

The sceptic tank looks good. Before you start seeding the area my only suggestion is to try and level the area first so that you don't have high hills and accidental dips that will make lawn mowing difficult. I also suggest removing rocks and debris that will get in the way of seeding.