Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Whole home low budget slow refresh

BoeingFan
Becoming a Leader

Whole home low budget slow refresh

Home Sweet Home!Home Sweet Home!So I'm about to take on a little cottage in the middle of nowhere to be near family, and I'm beside myself with excitement about all the stuff we can do to freshen her up. I've never done any reno stuff before, but a lick of paint is always a great place to start. Bunnings, here I come!

P.S. I'm still trying to work out how to add an image to this post!

BoeingFan
Becoming a Leader

Re: Whole home low budget slow refresh

Hi Everyone!

I've been a bit quiet on here over the last week or so; it's been interesting getting into the little old house and working out how to get by without a bathroom, a dishwasher, and aircon 😂 Also, the flyscreens are decades old and mosquito's are waltzing in during the evening when the lights are on, so I've resorted to the old school coils which I think smokes the dogs and I out more than the mozzies! Anyway, it's a ride, and we're on it now. The old place has no insulation, and so during the hot summer days you bake, and at night if there's a cold front you freeze. Feels like I'm in Melbourne 🤣

So, this teething time has meant that I'm doing more stuff to get the place functional than pretty, and one of the first things has been eliminating the weak spots in the fences where the dogs have found a way to get out. As you can see in the photo, I've had to put some Bunnings palings of various lengths onto one of the old front gates as the old existing wire was past its use by date.

It looks like glitter on a Richard the Third (rhyming slang, think about it) but it's functional. I'll pretty it up when I can. I'm also stumped re the doggy door but I'll come back with some pictures and predicament in another post later.

I hope everyone is well.

Cheers,