Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to restore a table with a veneer top?

jj24
Finding My Feet

How to restore a table with a veneer top?

Hi, noob here. I want to try and restore my kitchen table which as far as I can tell has a veneer table top and solid wood legs and skirt. I am currently thinking of trying a very careful sand with an orbital sander (you can see here the prior damage to the top which shows the particle board underneath what I presume is veneer?), followed by a strain and topcoat. I'm a bit unclear on what to do with the legs. Main thing is I have zero interest in painting any part of it - I want it to look natural. Keen for any feedback! 

20240109_082653.jpg

20240109_082658.jpg

20240109_083022.jpg

20240109_083022.jpg

  

Scarab
Getting Established

Re: Noob - restoring a table with a veneer top?

@jj24 would you consider adhering another veneer on the table top?

jj24
Finding My Feet

Probably outside of my current skill set....

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to restore a table with a veneer top?

Hi @jj24 

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's wonderful to have you join us, and thanks for sharing your question about restoring your table with veneer top.

Would it possible for you to post a photo of the entire table? This will give our members a chance to assess the tables condition. We can then make recommendations on how to proceed.

Based on the photos you posted it appears that the veneer is still in good condition. If you were to use an electric sander, I suggest using 240grit sandpaper so that it will not dig in too deep into the veneer. I don't recommend using a number lower than that as it might strip the veneer right off.