Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to fix gaps, nail holes, cracked wall and paint from skirting?

vennsoh
Getting Established

How to fix gaps, nail holes, cracked wall and paint from skirting?

Hi there, I just recently received my new house from my builder. We handed the house to another company to deal with the flooring. However to install the engineered timber flooring they will need to remove the skirting. Hence, after installing back the skirting it looks worn out with gaps, many nail holes and cracked wall/paint.

I'm thinking of doing the fixes myself, I'm a total newbie in this, so I would love to get some guidances on what tools/items to buy, also what things to be mindful of, and the steps to remedy the situation.

Thanks a ton!

Venn

IMG_0114.jpegIMG_0115.jpegIMG_0116.jpegIMG_0117.jpegIMG_0118.jpegIMG_0119.jpegIMG_0122.jpegIMG_0141.jpegIMG_0142.jpegIMG_0157.jpegIMG_0158.jpegIMG_0159.jpeg

Jewelleryrescue
Kind of a Big Deal

Re: How to fix gaps, nail holes, cracked wall/paint from skirting

Hi @vennsoh 

That other company did a terrible job I dont have to tell you that.

For the most part it is pretty easy fix, All found in paint section bunnings and do ask for help if you need it there.

You need painters masking tape 2 rolls at least

Metal scraper 50mm aprox blade x1

A good cauking gun x1

""White NO More gaps"" x 4 product filler round cartridge  to suit caulking gun AND  Nozzle supplied free.

Roll of clean up chux wipes

Plastic sheet to cover floor or clean any spills with chux and clean water ASAP that day.

Method

1. Just above the skirting board on the wall mask the wall in each area for easy  clean up . We want to fill those cracks without dirting the walls so dont cover cracks with tape.