Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Recommendations for insulating and enclosing a patio wanted

projectkarara
Finding My Feet

Recommendations for insulating and enclosing a patio wanted

Hi everyone! I am very new to renovating so I'd be very grateful for any recommendations or advice regarding my project. I am planning to enclose a patio that is currently semi enclosed with pull down blinds. I'd like it to be insulated and used all year round, so the plan is to completely enclose it.

At the moment, the floor is tiles. I am thinking of wooden decking. but not sure if some engineered wood or another option would be best. I don't want to remove the tiles, so something that can go over them would be best. there is a small step down (pictured) from the indoor floor to outdoors, so I think that will also be good as it will level things out?

There is currently a blue fencing around the patio, which I would love to repurpose and use as a frame to go around the patio. I just don't know what kind of material I could use as a backing on the fence to cover the gaps. I think it'd be nice to have to fence part on the outside, a backing material, insulation (not sure what to use) and then another material that would be showing on the inside. I'm not sure if any of that makes sense! But basically wanting to use the wood and insulate it to be used as the bottom half of the patio walls.

I am planning to enclose it where the big round posts are, and have a door at each end (where the big gaps currently are). I would like to have glass around the whole thing (top half of the patio), would plexiglass be good for that? I've also heard of clear insulation that can be used on glass. would anyone recommend that?

It would be good to have some of the glass as windows that can be opened as well.

As for the doors. I think just simple doors that swing open is fine. I really don't know what other options there are.