Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to waterproof water feature?

TashB
Finding My Feet

How to waterproof water feature?

Hi, 

I have a concrete Buddha Water feature that had pieces cracking and falling off and generally needs a refresh. I fixed the cracks using Bondcrete sealer, bonding and admix to mortar. Now I want to waterproof the basin again. Some of the concrete in the basin is exposed but some still has paint on it. What can I used to effectively waterproof it? Can Crommelins Waterproofing Membrane Sealer be applied over paint and concrete and then the Crommelins Pond Sealer be put over the top? Is that the best way to do it? Any help would be appreciated as I am a total novice!

20240110_104435.jpg

20240110_104445.jpg

Jewelleryrescue
Kind of a Big Deal

Re: Waterproofing Old Painted Cement Fountain

Hi @TashB   nice  project

You  already have the  solution in you hands, well  done  using admix bondcrete for the  top half :smile: plus  mortar.

Bond crete mixed  with pure off white cement  this time 3 coats will give you a white water proof seal. 

If you add some bright yellow sand to make a  mortar your familiar with. will give your a more sandstone look and colour,

Cement 1 part ,  yellow sand 1 part   1/2 part bondcrete   add water to make thick syrup as  paint.

I have it in  big pond  now it is solid and non leaking.

Australian Builders 20kg Off White CementI/N: 0037905 12.34

https://www.bunnings.com.au/australian-builders-20kg-off-white-cement_p0037905

Boncrete and cement will make a white cement paint that will bond  very well and water proof very  well.  no extra required.

Crommelins Waterproofing Membrane Sealer is not UV stable and I had it fail in my pond cracking up needing  redoing which  was a lot of hard work.

To assist your use a Mortars brush  (But a regular brush will work  for small area,)

Dunlop 160mm Renderers Brush 

I/N: 0960322

$28