Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to improve this D.I.Y. balcony dog potty?

tryds
Just Starting Out

How to improve this D.I.Y. balcony dog potty?

Hello! We recently moved into an apartment for the first time with an 8 year old staffy x lab who has problems with her back legs and doesn't like going out in the rain.

The dog toilets available to buy were too small, so I ended up building one on our balcony. It has worked but and i'm a bit of an amateur so am hoping for some advice on building a better one

What I used for the current potty: 

- 6 x 1m pine for the frame (4 perimeter and 2 support underneath)

- 2 x smaller pieces of wood to prop up the middle (for drainage)

- piece of MDF on top of the support pieces 

- Grunt plastic wrap and tape over the MDF (attempted waterproofing) 

- 4 x metal feet 

- wood screws 

- drain (one side closed off)

- plastic tray (for drainage to go into)

- fake grass 

Issues/ needs improvement:

- the wood isn't sealed or waterproofed so it is starting to smell (unsure of best solution) 

- plastic may need to be regularly replaced (would prefer to just hose off regularly - not sure what to replace with)

- drain sometimes dribbles onto the balcony so probably needs to be more direct to the tray 

- Size probably needs to be updated to 1m x 1.5m or 2m

- would like a larger tray for run off but would need to lift it more, which might mean adding a little step since she has bad legs 

- I like that the wood is lifted so the run off is directed to the drain, am not sure of the drain will need to be moved to the middle if I extend the length 

Keen to just start from scratch so would appreciate advice 😊

20240104_094021.jpg

20240104_093552.jpg

Akanksha
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Re: How to improve this D.I.Y. balcony dog potty?