Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to fix/fill the gaps between the stones in the retaining wall in backyard?

SuchDIY
Just Starting Out

How to fix/fill the gaps between the stones in the retaining wall in backyard?

Hi Experts,

I am a newbie and haven't done an outdoor DIY as such. I have an issue with our retaining wall that holds the Garden and runs along 1 side of the entire house. (Check the pictures shown)

Over the years, stone in it have become loose and I also find that the GAP between the stones has increased.

I am not sure how can I fix it ? Can I just use some fast setting Cement and patch it on these GAPS or what ?

Any advice is highly appreciated. The last photo shows some cement thrown on the stones by previous owner may be.

WhatsApp Image 2022-08-27 at 2.28.31 PM (1).jpegWhatsApp Image 2022-08-27 at 2.28.31 PM (2).jpegWhatsApp Image 2022-08-27 at 2.28.32 PM (1).jpegWhatsApp Image 2022-08-27 at 2.28.32 PM (2).jpegWhatsApp Image 2022-08-27 at 2.28.33 PM.jpegWhatsApp Image 2022-08-27 at 2.28.33 PM (2).jpegWhatsApp Image 2022-08-27 at 2.28.30 PM.jpeg

Remarka6le
Amassing an Audience

Re: How to fix/fill the gaps between the stones in the retaining wall in backyard?

Hey @SuchDIY , 

Doing something similar (that's on the backburner while our current project gets completed), but we purchased a Concrete Cement Sprayer to do exactly what you're wanting + cover up the boulders of our retaining walls. It hooks into an air compressor and just shoots out your mixture, much easier than manually applying it and gets a smooth finish :smile: 

Remarka6le
EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: How to fix/fill the gaps between the stones in the retaining wall in backyard?

Hello @SuchDIY

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's a pleasure to have you join us, and thank you for sharing your question about fixing the gaps in your retaining wall.