Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Upcycled television cabinet with coastal vibe

Shaira
Building a Reputation

Upcycled television cabinet with coastal vibe

E94093EE-A2A0-4139-90EC-C8F742CC23BA.jpegA milestone to cherish 

i am a wife, a mother to a beautiful daughter. I am also an entrepreneur. I am a budding furniture artist. I do use my endless creativity and imagination to turn a sad, lonely, lifeless furniture into a beautiful, happy, entirely a different dimensional aspect of of freshness and elegance filled furniture. 

I have been on the business for about 4 years now and every working day has been a wonderful blessing where I get to create unique, one of a kind beautiful furniture pieces. 

B154ECC1-CC01-47A0-8DCA-D18EFE464532.jpeg

One day, I brought home was a second hand well used tv cabinet which I bought through gumtree.

Looking at the cabinet, the imaginative mode was activated on my mind and I could see so many possibilities for this cabinet. After a careful thought process I decided to keep it simple yet elegant and classy. 

As I have been painting furniture for a long time I have a decent  stock of so many resources I  have bought from Bunnings. Time to time I keep adding more paints or sanding paper or anything I need for my collection so I could easily work on more projects.

First thing first I always clean the furniture with a piece of cloth and soapy water. So this is what I did for this cabinet as well.

Once  it’s nicely dried I used my ozito brand sanding machine and 80 grit sanding paper to sand down the top of the cabinet and then I gave a gentle sanding to the rest of the cabinet. 

once the sanding part is done yes you guessed it right a big sigh of relief also followed 😀.

Then I did the prep by applying white paint. Leaving it to get dried I went on another quote. 

I wanted to apply a nice calming blue that would instantly help create a Costal vibe.