Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Make a Unique Headboard from Old Kitchen Cupboards

AnitaH25
Having an Impact

Make a Unique Headboard from Old Kitchen Cupboards

I live in a small town and people have gotten to know that I build from recycled materials, so I am always being given free wood furniture to build with.  That is how I came to have these kitchen Cupboards I was not sure how I was going to repurpose them at the time.  Then my sister asked if I could make her a headboard for her spare room. I thought I would try and make them from these.  And this was the outcome which was even better than I had envisioned.  I am a self-taught DIYer, and I make up my projects as I go along.  So saying that I am not saying this is the correct way, but it is the way that I have done it.  Happy to get any info.

Unique HeadboardUnique Headboard

I started by removing all the hardware. I sanded down the surfaces to remove the build-up of grease that accumulates over years of use.  I used 120grit sandpaper and an orbital sander to remove all the old varnish and stain.

Unique Headboard  (7).jpg

I decided to go for a two-tone effect because the inside groove would be too time-consuming to sand by hand, and the orbital did not fit into the groove. Make sure you remove all the old varnish or the new stain will not absorb and your doors will be patchy.

Unique Headboard  (8).jpg

My posts are 9cm x 9cm and are made up of lots of different woods. So I thought they would be a good fit for my cupboard doors.

Side postsSide posts

I started by cutting a slot into the post for the cupboard doors to slot into. I did this on a table saw because I thought it would be a lot quicker than using a router. I did multiple passes on the table saw until I ended up with a groove of 2 cm wide and 2 cm deep.  

Unique Headboard  (1).jpg