Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

What sleeper peg to use for raised garden beds?

Abhijeet_rookie
Finding My Feet

What sleeper peg to use for raised garden beds?

Hi team,

I am a newbie in the world of DIY. I am currently planning on doing the backyard. The aim is to have garden beds running parallel to the fence, a quarter of circle area for sit out and remaining natural grass.

For the garden beds, I have a couple of questions. Would be great if any expert or experienced hand could answer -

1. For holding the garden bed / sleepers, which one of the two (linked below) are better option -

a. https://www.bunnings.com.au/jack-450mm-heavy-duty-steel-sleeper-peg-flat-stake_p1100606 (for connecting two sleepers)

https://www.bunnings.com.au/jack-450mm-heavy-duty-steel-corner-stake-sleeper-peg_p1100604 ( for corner connections)

b. https://www.bunnings.com.au/400mm-sleeper-peg-galvanised-steel-t-joiner_p1100405

2. As we are planning the garden beds parallel to the fence ( 800mm apart), do I need to do a small retaining wall/ plank? If yes, do i screw the plank between the fence post? Are there any other alternatives, apart from plank? Something like Recycled garden edging?

Any help would be highly appreciated

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Sleeper Peg - which one to use?

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @Abhijeet_rookie. It's wonderful to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about installing a garden bed.

How high will these garden beds be? If they are only one sleeper high, then the Jack 450mm Heavy Duty Steel Sleeper Peg Flat Stake and Jack 450mm Heavy Duty Steel Corner Stake Sleeper Peg will be fine. If it is any higher than one sleeper, I recommend you move to the Jack posts.