Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

What sort of board is this in our laundry?

Newbie2k23
Cultivating a Following

What sort of board is this in our laundry?

Hello again, 2 weeks ago I asked regarding waterproofing or water resistance in the laundry now we're about to remove the wall to

20230808_114313.jpg

20230808_114305.jpg

since we have to change it to villaboard. This one doesn't look gyprock to me or since I'm new maybe I'm wrong lol bottom sheet looks gyprock to me tho. Just removed the cornice for now till I get the answer since I'm new to DIY I have to double check if I should rip it off or leave it. Thank you all

Re: What sort of board is this in our laundry?

Hi @Newbie2k23,

It's perfectly fine to put insulation batts around plumbing pipes. Depending on where they sit in the walls thickness, you might need to put the batt behind or infornt of the pipe, or cut the batts to fit around them. No issue with proximity though.

Mitchell

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
Newbie2k23
Cultivating a Following

Thank you so much, got worried about it because I thought the pipe may burst if I put insulation around it 

Newbie2k23
Cultivating a Following

Hello, all again the plumber came today and removed the old line and installed the new line. I told the plumber I don't use hot water in the washing machine except for cleaning the drum and the really dirty clothes. We're going to have a mixer for the sink. So the plumber put 2 hot water where we can switch it on only when we need it. And said he would come back to install the rest afterwards. So my question is since it's only 1 cold water does it mean the cold water for the washing machine and mixer can be connected in that 1 cold line? Are they using adapter or whatever is that safe when it comes to leak issue. Thanks again

20230825_133207.jpg

Dave-1
Home Improvement Guru

Good afternoon @Newbie2k23