Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Ideas wanted for English country cottage style interior

MikaRJ
Getting Established

Ideas wanted for English country cottage style interior

Has anyone done an English country cottage style interior by themselves on a budget? If so, how was your experience and what would you recommend? I've never used power tools before but I'm excited to learn and style my house in old British charm.

Ta!

Edit: These are the inspo pics. I love the wall paneling and window treatments so want to implement something similar. Definitely want a chair rail from formal reception all the way through the dinning room.

Our budget is 70k which I'm hoping will cover the entire house including the bathrooms and laundry and the outdoors. I know this will take years and sounds too ambitious but we're determined to do as much as we can by ourselves.

(Apologies for the mess, we've just moved into this property)

Bottom panelling like this from formal seating to dinning room and then upper wall can have a different style of treatment to create the separation of spaces.

HOUSEofTURQUOISE.jpg

a6e8182a7173e625bc83d3aa64caed69.jpg

Screenshot_20231109_203652_com.brave.browser.jpg

  

REJUVENATION.png

Love the pop of golden trims. I think it would look great on an accent wall? Or would it be an overkill? 

I0O3GRHLm2Zl.jpg

Love this wall treatment minus the ceiling trim. Will this make a 2.4m high ceiling look taller?

Screen-Shot-2021-08-09-at-2.41.10-PM.png

Very keen to DIY a slim pullout storage like this next to the fridge.

Screenshot_20231028_012317_com.pinterest.png

Our kitchen is positioned in a similar way so keen to try this style out but want more of floating shelves alongsides of the window.

Screenshot_20231106_143333_com.google.android.youtube.png