Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to fix loose Dynabolt for folding arm awning in brick wall?

Golf
Getting Established

How to fix loose Dynabolt for folding arm awning in brick wall?

Hi

Really appreciated if anyone can please help me with this problem as I don't have a skill in this area at all. I decided to install the Windoware awning myself. Picture from the website as shown below.

Screenshot 2023-11-10 191020.png

This involves drilling a hole in my brick wall and install awning bracket using dyna bolts that come with the kit. I noticed when I drilled the hole that inside the brick was quite hollow (not sure if this is the right word). This might be my fault as I'm not good at using the drill. So when I installed the dynabolt and tighten it, there were some holes that the bolts were OK (ie. I felt tight when tightening it and the bolt sat flush) but there were also some that no matter how much I tighten the bolt, it was never tight. This leads me to believe that because the brick was hollow inside and that's why even the dyna bolt, it couldn't expand enough to hold the bolt to the brick.

Once I started using the awning, it was OK for a while but now I can clearly see that some of the bolts start to come off and became very dangerous! Please see photos below.

371545795_890480249268680_1510770618289390374_n.jpg386868897_1052972009058007_2748357872670437757_n.jpg

I tried to do some research on how to fix it but not sure about what I found. As it can be dangerous and fall down hitting someones' head, I'm hoping someone can shine some light on how to fix it.