Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to fix chipped timber deck?

hisumesh
Cultivating a Following

How to fix chipped timber deck?

Hi

there is a chip on my outdoor timber deck as shown. Any options to fix it? Or should I replace the whole impacted panels (2 of them)? Or are there any options to make it look better or conceal?

Thanks in advance.

IMG_3005.jpeg

Jewelleryrescue
Kind of a Big Deal

Re: How to fix chipped timber deck?

Hi @hisumesh 

I would sand that timber flat and smooth as I could on and angle trying hard to make it look  a natural apart of the deck and restain over it the same  color rather than replace the two  deck boards.

Stain will come from your original deck project.

Hi @Jewelleryrescue 

Thanks mate.

I am a novice. Hence, bear with me if this is silly. Any article or videos on how do I go about sanding the edges? I will ask the builder about the stain that was used when the deck was originally put in place. 

again, thanks a lot mate. 

Hi @hisumesh

The goal of sanding  your deck is to  sand the corners at an angle say 45 degrees to  get rid of the splintered wood at just  the corner not the full length. The 45 degree will be noticable too you but not  ugly like the timber is  now if fact it might look almost planned you will notice it but others  wont.

Use  you tube to learn stuff keeping in mind USA and UK might use different products.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fXFnzZg-SPo

Excellent @Jewelleryrescue . Thanks mate.

Hi @hisumesh 

You might be able to color that timber  edge with a dark brown texta or the closest match to the deck color Even a bit of brown shoe polish just try in a small spot first.  try match the color close before tring.

But if you learn you true deck color and brand of stain maker. buy a small tin for  these trouble some  marks. 250 to 500ml if possible.