Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to build an outdoor dining table using Merbau decking?

MorryM
Just Starting Out

How to build an outdoor dining table using Merbau decking?

I've been tasked with building an 8 seater outdoor dining table for my daughter, I have no specific experience with this beyond some general woodwork/ construction projects but have access to most required tools except a jointer. As this will be an outdoor table, actually on a covered deck, I had planned on leaving a 3mm gap between boards so won't need perfectly parallel  edges.

Most online projects call for 25mm or 50mm planks but ideally I'd like to use merbau decking from Bunnings as it's a reasonable price and looks good IMO and  I've just completed a deck reno using 90mm * 19mm merbau and have some leftovers I could repurpose.

Anyway I guess my question is is 19mm going to be too thin or should I look elsewhere for 25mm boards * 140mm boards? I realise thinness is an subjective  concept but I'd like to make this setting  look good not just functional.

I had considered Bunnings 140mm*19mm merbau but was concerned about cupping with a wide thin board.

Any ideas much appreciated?

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Thoughts on 19mm decking for outdoor table?

Hello @MorryM 

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's marvellous to have you join us, and thank you for sharing your question about using Merbau as a tabletop for an outdoor dining table.

I'm a big fan of Merbau timber and I think using it as a tabletop is ok. I've been meaning to make something similar but have not had the opportunity.