Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to build an upholstered bed headboard?

maodoumama
Finding My Feet

How to build an upholstered bed headboard?

Hi team, I need some help with this bed headboard project. I need to make two queen upholstery headboards as the ones on the market either too ugly or too expensive. 

I have no experience, no tools and no materials. I am hoping to get the tools and materials and make the project on two or three whole days. 

Any advice, guidance or tips appreciated. 

All the bests, 

Peng

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: headboard

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @maodoumama. It's sensational to have you join us, and many thanks for your question about creating a headboard.

Your project sounds entirely possible, but I wouldn't be putting a definitive time limit on it if you haven't done something like this before. 

To start, you'll need materials such as Plywood, foam padding, upholstery fabric, PVA glue and staples. For the tools, a saw, staple gun, utility knife, measuring tape and sandpaper.

You'll start by measuring the width of the bed and determining the height you'd like the bedhead to be. Cut the plywood to these dimensions. You can cut your plywood at angle or in a curve for a decorative look. Use your sandpaper to sand any rough edges.

Cut your padding to match the dimensions of your plywood. Use PVA glue to adhere your padding to the plywood and allow it to dry.

Next, lay your upholstery on a surface and place your bedhead on top with the padding facing down. Pull the fabric taut over the headboard and staple it to the back, starting from the centre and working your way out. Corners can be a bit tricky; fold them neatly like wrapping a gift.

Once the fabric is securely attached, trim any excess fabric and batting.