Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

How to build a children's bed gym?

Kathy88
Finding My Feet

How to build a children's bed gym?

I wanna make the bed gym I drew. I'm not a good drawer so I added the pic of the bed that inspired me. I'm a total newbie and I don't have any tools. I want to try to buy as little tools as possible.  I was thinking asking bunnings to cut the pieces for me. I'm guessing I still need a sander, drill and child friendly wax or varnish for the wood. Am I missing anything else? Any recommendations on the brands I can get?

Also the most important thing, what type of wood should I buy? 1 to 2 children (let's say 80kg)

Screenshot_20231123_072906_Etsy.jpg

17007091431545124815697502907631.jpg

will be climbing it so I need something strong. 

Dave-1
Home Improvement Guru

Re: How to build a children's bed gym?

Good Afternoon @Kathy88 

I like your way of thinking and I would like to say welcometo the Bunnings community :smile:

Looking at the design (Even the prettyfied one : ) Id change a few things to make it more stable and stronger especially if you are going to have children climbing on it. 

For the timber question Id be using plywood for the ends and the base, easy and cheap to use. The peaked roof is the bit I'd change, it would be hard to make it strong and stable enough overall is how I am thinking, having the roof more like a larger set of monkey bars may be an idea. (strength/structual wise)

Id be using 70*35mm pine at least and not having a huge distance between supports (Left and right side) Or double it so you can span the longer distance.

Tools that come to mind are

Drill

Jigsaw to cut out your shapes

Torqued battery drill so you can use it to screw screws in.

Circular saw