Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Which order for laundry reno?

Annie2
Growing in Experience

Which order for laundry reno?

Hello

I have no reno experience, and I am about to redo my laundry. Currently the laundry has an attached aluminium cabinet/sink combo in a corner, with two large, shiny tiles on either side of the corner, above it. I have done a bit of reading and watching, including here. Inevitably, I now have some conflicting views (guessing there are often more than one way to skin a cat), in particular about the order of doing things. I was hoping to please tap into some expert assistance here.

Here is a simplified order of business, as I understand it:

Turn off water + electricity, demo

Assemble + install cabinets

Cut counter top (rubber wood) (to length, + sink hole, tap hole), sand, + seal with polyurethane

Install counter, silicone to wall (white silicone?), cure

Drop in sink, attach with silicone – do I also seal the seams with silicone (rim of sink to counter)? With clear silicone?

Tile, grout, silicone gap between bottom of tile + counter

Any comments/advise/insight into my order and questions is appreciated.

Additionally, I wonder what size spacer I use for an imperfect edge subway tile laid vertically stack bond? Do I also need wedges (for between bottom of tile + counter)?

To reassure you, if you find the novice status of my questions alarming, my tradie (electrician) brother will be providing some help and supervision (and tools). It is my project though, and I would be most grateful for your help.

Many thanks

Annie

EricL
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Which order for laundry reno?

Hello @Annie2 

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community. It's marvellous to have you join us, and thanks for sharing your question about your laundry renovation.