Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

What welder for inexperienced hands?

Lizard77
Just Starting Out

What welder for inexperienced hands?

a4b5ffc3-5334-41ca-8a5d-fd85fe0239b8.jpg

Just looking for some advice please!

I have been looking to purchase a welder so that I can build or repair dog runs as well as small odd jobs around the house.

I have no experience but am pretty quick at picking things up. I just want something that is basic and not going to blow out my finances while I learn the basics and may then look at something bigger and better.

Could anyone point me in the right direction please as there are so many welders I'm now mega confused which way to go!

Thanks in advance.

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: What welder for inexperienced hands?

You've come to the right place @Lizard77

Let me tag some of our helpful members for you so they are alerted to your question about choosing a welder, including 

@r23on@Brad@Noyade@royq and @She_Skills.

Let me also extend a very warm welcome to the Workshop community. We're pleased you could join us and look forward to reading all about your projects and plans. Please feel free to post whenever you have a new project to share or need a hand with anything. And please let me know if you need help getting the most from the site or have any feedback about how we can make Workshop even more useful to you. 

All the best,

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
Brad
Kind of a Big Deal

I have a 1980 CIG stick welder with a transformer that is a 15amp plug. Technology has moved on since then.

Cheapest start is a stick only welder, there is a bit of a learning curve to get reasonable results.

Next would be dedicated MIG welder with or without gas. Once you have the settings right it is easier than stick welding.