Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Timber floor scratches and fading

gayathri
Getting Established

Timber floor scratches and fading

Hi, I am newbie here. May be too simple. But as a novice in this area I need help. If already answered please direct me there.

Selling house. Our timber floor has scratches mainly under the chairs,and couch. Any DIY IDEAS please. Have tried store bought timber floor cleaners and polishes.none have worked.

Also the floor has faded opposite the sun facing window.Any suggestion here?

Thank you.

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: Timber floor scratches and fading

Hi @gayathri,

Welcome to the Workshop community. We trust that you'll get loads of helpful advice and inspiration for your home improvement projects from our clever and creative members. 

I'd recommend you start with this previous discussion - https://www.workshop.com.au/t5/Whole-of-House/Chlorine-mark-on-timber-floor/m-p/10444 While the cause of the damage is obviously different, some of the suggestions might be worth a try. I would also encourage you to post some photos if you can. It will help members to see what you are working with. I suspect that there is really nothing that will have the same impact as sanding and re-polishing the timber boards though. Whether that is a worthwhile investment before selling is something worth discussing with your real estate agent. 

I have separated your second question into a new discussion as it will be much more likely to be seen and answered by other members. It can be found here - https://www.workshop.com.au/t5/Whole-of-House/Hanging-pictures-without-damaging-walls/m-p/31297

Thanks again for joining in the discussion. 

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
gayathri
Getting Established

Thank you Jason. Really appreciate your suggestions.

Also have tried the 3M hooks for the paintings. Works great. Thanks to all.
Cheers