Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Patching holes in the wall

PartyDad
Growing in Experience

Patching holes in the wall

We hosted a 18th birthday party on the weekend and there was some over-enthusiastic dancing. I now have to repair four holes in the wall. I've never done it before - the extent of my previous repair jobs is using polyfilla to fill a crack. 

Anyone got any tips for attacking these? Would they all require the same approach? 

2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg1.jpg

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: Patching holes in the wall

Oh dear @PartyDad, it looks like the guests had a good time of it. 

I would recommend you start here - How to fix a hole in a plaster wall. It includes the tools and materials that you will need. I will also embed the video below. 

I'm sure Workshop members will also be happy to assist. Let me extend a very warm welcome to the community. I trust you'll get plenty of helpful advice and inspiration for your projects from our members.

Good luck with the repairs.

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
PartyDad
Growing in Experience

Will give it a go. Can't make things worse! I guess I can always call in a professional if I stuff it up.
PartyDad
Growing in Experience

Patched the three holes successfully following the advice on the video. They look almost perfect. 

Had as a bit more trouble with the crack. Made a bit of a mess by putting too much filler on the first go yesterday, then sanding it back today its still a bit uneven and messy. Think I will need to sand it all off and start again next weekend.

PartyDad
Growing in Experience

Had another go this morning and it’s come up well. Didn’t need to use any more filler, just needed a good sand now that it was all nice and dry. It’s lovely and smooth now and ready for painting.

FB34BC4D-07E7-43B5-8106-95A404724AAE.jpeg

PartyDad
Growing in Experience