Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

I just bought a double brick apartment and would love some advice

magen_
Cultivating a Following

I just bought a double brick apartment and would love some advice

Hi! 

I just settled on my new home, an apartment in an Art Deco building in Ascot Vale. 

I have some experience renovating (I just sold my family home which I renovated extensively, a lot of it myself), but that was a 1950s double-fronted weatherboard. Easy access to electrics and plumbing behind the plaster, house on stumps, walls easily removed... I’m completely out of my element in a double brick property, especially an apartment, where all the internal walls are double brick and are likely supporting the upper floors. 

I’m engaging a few builders for quotes and will also speak to an architect, but my main issues at the moment will be renovating if I’m unable to remove any walls. The space is pretty small, and the kitchen is awkward in that it has two doorways (one into the room and one to the backyard). 

I have a few ideas, but ideas you may have for anything at all, or suggestions/basic costs for removal of internal double brick walls would be appreciated. I’m a sponge and will soak up all your knowledge and experience. I’ll be doing as much as I can myself going forward, but given the complexities and age of the building, I’ll be leaving a lot of the work to the professionals. 

Thank you in advance :smile: I’d like to add shelves above the built-ins (I have a lot of books!), and replace what’s now a small electric heater with a gas log fireplace.I’d like to add shelves above the built-ins (I have a lot of books!), and replace what’s now a small electric heater with a gas log fireplace.

The bath will be coming out.The bath will be coming out.

170D4E26-149D-4ABD-84D3-FBBEEBB2A6B6.jpeg