Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Custom Desk for an Awkward Space - Advice Needed!

mmkl
Finding My Feet

Custom Desk for an Awkward Space - Advice Needed!

I’m planning on making a desk to fit in a specific area. It’s an awkward space and not ideal but it’s the only area I can set up a workspace.

I’m not very experienced in carpentry so I’m keeping it as simple as I can while trying to keep costs low.

I don’t really have the space to seal and stain unfinished wood so I’m planning to use plywood as a base to hold pre-finished hardwood panels. I need a width of at least 75 cm and I’ve been unable to find pre-finished panels in that size at an affordable price so I’m planning to use multiple pieces. The legs I have are 74cm high which is a little over the recommended height so I’m trying to keep the desktop as thin as possible.

These are the materials I plan on using:

SpecRite 1800 x 405 x 18mm Brown Acacia Oiled Hardwood Panel

https://www.bunnings.com.au/specrite-1800-x-405-x-18mm-brown-acacia-oiled-hardwood-panel_p8330171

SpecRite 1200 x 405 x 18mm Brown Acacia Oiled Panel

https://www.bunnings.com.au/1200-x-405-x-18mm-brown-acacia-oiled-panel_p8330173

2400 x 1200 x 15mm F8 Structural CD Plywood

https://www.bunnings.com.au/2400-x-1200-x-15mm-f8-structural-cd-plywood_p0340352

I’d appreciate any advice/input as to whether this plan will work.

If I can avoid putting a leg in the front-middle of the desk that would be great, but I’m not sure if there will be enough support.

Screen Shot 2020-07-17 at 11.59.16 am.png

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: Custom Desk for an Awkward Space - Advice Needed!

Welcome to the Bunnings Workshop community @mmkl. It's great to have you join us and many thanks for your question.