Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Weatherboards - What are the downsides?

Kim
Having an Impact

Weatherboards - What are the downsides?

We love the charm of weatherboard clad homes and after touring a weatherboard open house on the weekend are pretty close to making an offer on one. We've only ever owned brick homes to date. The house in question is only 2 years old so I expect is using the latest in weatherboard technology.

What do I need to be aware of? What is the maintenance required?
mpstdaff
Getting Established

Re: Weatherboards - What are the downsides?

Hi Kim,I am no expert, but can offer some insight having had a wall built out of fibre cement cladding & my parents have a house that is constructed with it.
My first tip is to keep them boards clean from dirt etc & to monitor for damage to the surface of the boards. Small nicks & dents in my opinion can leave the fibre open & create a weakness due to water damage etc. I have nearly finished building our 3rd wall for our outdoor entertaining area. I have used 14mm thick weatherboard from Bunnings. I painted the studs with 2 coats of Dulux Weathershield before fitting the boards. The boards also got 2 coats of the weathershield before fitment. Once installed the boards have received another coat on the inner & outer sides. The inner side is protected by mini CGI & topped with an alloy capping to prevent water entry into the back of the wall.
The previous wall was also built with fibre cement cladding.I was told by the seller (not Bunnings but another Hardware Store) that 6mm board would be fine for the job - well it only managed to last for 5 years due to natural movement of the stud wall & having kids playing around the wall with balls etc.