Workshop
Ask a question

Retro ice box

Stuardo
Becoming a Leader

Retro ice box

I needed a large esky for Christmas day but couldn't afford one so bought an 80 litre storage tub from Bunnings, filled with ice it worked well. I decided to build a timber box and frame around it with a lid and packed the sides with styrene foam. Painted to match my outdoor furniture and I am very happy with the results. Stays cold and lasts as long as any cooler. I already had the offcuts of timber and left-over paint so just a cheap and simple project.IceBox 01.jpg

IceBox 02.jpg

Rhys
Cultivating a Following

Re: Retro Ice Box

Awesome idea

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Looks fantastic @Stuardo. Many thanks for sharing. I'm sure this will inspire other community members, particularly those suffering from recent heat.

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
kmc
Just Starting Out

love the ice box. I would like to make one, How did you make it. I am new at the wood working stuff for my first attempt I would like to make one. What sort of materials where used and how was it up together

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Welcome to Workshop @kmc. You've come to the right place if you want a hand with your first woodworking project. I'm sure @Stuardo and many of our woodworking afficiandos would be happy to give you a hand. You'll also find lots of other inspiring projects as you browse the site. 

Please let me know if you need any help getting the most from the site. 

Jason

Stuardo
Becoming a Leader