Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

My custom pool design

ProjectPete
Kind of a Big Deal

My custom pool design

I have the great pleasure and challenge of designing the pool for the new house :smile:

In our current place we have a small fibreglass pool which we didn't have much flexibility with given the small area we had to work in. It's smaller than we'd like and uninteresting in its design. However in the new house we have much more room and we'l be doing a concrete pool so we get the design we want.

Would love to hear from anyone that's done this before and/or is a pool designer/installer by trade. My current plan is to build it from precast slabs, join it up, seal it, tile/skin it and fill. And this is where I'm looking for some insights/feedback.

• Best/most efficient way to build this pool? I'm think most, if not all, is precast slabs but can see a possible combination with some intricacies frame and built on site.
  • Suggestions on finish? Fe options; raw concrete with appropriate sealant, membrane, tiling.
  • Specific consideration for effective jet/filtration positioning?
  • Sand or cartridge filter? Pros and cons...
  • Anything else you have to offer is welcome :smile:

We're looking at a pool around 7m x 4m in swimming area and would like a more unique and appealing entry such as below (ideally in addion to the swimming area but open to some compromise).

Love the idea of being able to lay on the flatLove the idea of being able to lay on the flatNice steps plus "spa"Nice steps plus "spa"Nice steps plus "spa"Nice steps plus "spa"

Thanks very much!

----------
Handy and helpful
Instagram @projectpete.diy @at.home.rosehill @kayudesignco @aspirebamboo

Re: My custom pool design

Hi @ProjectPete

What are your soil type conditions... is it Class M?

Are you still going down the reinforced Masonry blockwork pool structure + Liner path or concrete shell?