Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Low level deck, where to start

aaronwier
Cultivating a Following

Low level deck, where to start

Hi everyone, looking after some help with decking. We have a split level home with an outdoot section that was I believe used sit a spa. The tiling looked horrible, was raised in some parts, so I wanted to rip it up curious to see what was underneath so I could look at options. It appears to be big sections of sandstone, which they tiled over. The section is boxed in with brickwork. The high side of the brickword does seem very sturdy, though does look rough

This would be a great spot for a deck. Area is approx 3.5 x 3.5 with a view to extend out further in the future. 

My questions/comments:

• Where do I start? I know the area to deck, how do I work out the bearers/joists required, and relevant sizes?
  • I'm not a complete noob, as I have built retaining walls, fences etc many times, and would love to give this a go
  • Any considerations I need to take into account because of the sandstone? ie for footings? It varies in depth from 300mm to 600 or so. Can I use stirrups for bearers?
  • Does the deck need to be attached to the house? As you can see from the pic, there is a section of  the house, but that wall is not flat all the way across (its like a render/textured paint)

Pics below:

IMG-7400.jpgIMG-7401.jpgIMG-7402.jpgIMG-7403.jpgIMG-7404.jpgIMG-7405.jpg

I've read a heap of the low level deck posts here, which have been awesome. 

Thanks all :smile:

Aaron

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: Low level deck, where to start

Great to see you've found other low-level deck posts @aaronwier, it's certainly a popular topic on the site.

Let me tag the ever-helpful @ProjectPete who might like to kick off this discussion for you. 

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
aaronwier
Cultivating a Following