Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Some help with what to do with painted over wallpaper that is tearing

Itai
Becoming a Leader

Some help with what to do with painted over wallpaper that is tearing

Hey All.

I am beginning my renovation project by starting with the first bedroom. I was planning to paint over the existing paint (in a 1970's house).

However, after pulling some hooks off the wall, it has ripped a bunch of the underlying wallpaper off with it, leaving a nasty fibrous part that paint won't like. See the photo below.

Screen Shot 2019-12-18 at 10.22.45.png

I assume this is the backing of wallpaper under the paint. That's what it seems like anyway, but I could be wrong (I've never done this before).

What should I be doing in this case to prep the walls? Should I be stripping the wallpaper / paint off all 4 walls? Should I just somehow clean up the areas where it tore (it's very easy to lift off the surrounding paint and expose more of this fibrous backing - so not sure new paint will hold strong in these areas). Or in the most extreme case, should I be looking at replastering the walls?

And for any method you think is good, how do I go about doing that? What are good products to use that I can get at bunnings?

Thanks

Itai 

Mathy
Becoming a Leader

Re: Some help with what to do with painted over wallpaper that is tearing

Hi @Itai - are your walls solid (Brick/plaster) or are they gyprock? It’s a bit hard to tell, but that looks like gyprock that’s had the “paintable” layer torn off. Actual decorative wall paper isn’t usually that brown colour if your rip it.