Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Patching cracks on rendered interior walls

nk2018
Just Starting Out

Patching cracks on rendered interior walls

Hi All,

I have just bought a 1920's bungalow in Rosebery which requires a little bit of TLC. We are focusing on comestic things initally. 

The interior walls of all four bedrooms are cement render, over double brick. We would like to paint it ourselves however i am considered that there is some small cracks and blemishes/holes through the render. Can anyone advise the best was to fix these? I have limited DIY experience so any advice is welcome! I have used a eletric sander to bring some of the old paint bubbles away which has been useful but not sure about patching the render. 

Thanks.IMG_0527.JPGIMG_0721.JPGIMG_1987.JPGIMG_4664.JPG

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: Rendered Interior Walls

Congratulations on your purchase @nk2018. It sounds like a wonderful property. Good luck with the renovation work. 

I'm sure that community members will be happy to help on this occasion and on any other projects you might tackle. Feel free to post whenever you need a hand. If you browse the site you should find plenty of inspiration, too. Please let me know if you ever need help getting the most from the site or have any feedback about how we can further improve Workshop for you.

Welcome to the community,

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
PartyDad
Growing in Experience

@nk2018

I can recommend this as very easy to use and got me a perfect finish - https://www.bunnings.com.au/earl-s-multfill-ready-to-use-filler-1kg-white_p1661245

I used it on plasterboard walls, see https://www.workshop.com.au/t5/Whole-of-House/Patching-holes-in-the-wall/m-p/19360

Your cement render might be a bit different to work with compared to plasterboard but it definitely says it can be used concrete, cement sheets, brick, etc