Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Closing the Gap between floorboards

Noyade
Kind of a Big Deal

Closing the Gap between floorboards

Hello!

Looking for tips on closing gaps in floating floor panels - don't wanna pull it all apart and start again. There's just a few of them in a hallway near the kitchen. This is where we started and where most errors appeared as we were complete novices at the time with regards to floating floor.

Hard to see on the photograph - but they're (the gaps) probably only half a millimetre.

They're 10mm boards and not of a high quality. As we learnt we got better and had no problems, but when we went back to where we started we could see where we went wrong.

I'm thinking of utilising friction > large L plate steel, rubber and a sledgehammer.  :smile:

But before I try that I'd like to hear other ideas....

Cheers

Graeme and Jule.

The Great DivideThe Great Divide

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: Closing the Gap

Let me tag our resident flooring expert @PJA for you. Hopefully Peter will have some helpful advice.

Jason

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
PJA
Having an Impact

G'day Graeme and Jule,
congratulations on getting it right toward the end; and especially for giving it a go.
My first question is, does anyone apart from you notice it?
Painters always blotch a spot here and there. Professionals tend to do it more than us amateurs. The thing is that because you painted it, you notice it; whereas hardly anyone else (except for a professional painter) will see it.
It will be the same for the floor. You did it; you see it.
If you are determined to fix it then you have 2 choices. Give it a bask with the Z brace and hammer, after praying fervently.
Only do this if you have some left over pieces to replace the ones you are going to, most likely, damage in the attempt.
Or... lift up the floor and redo it.