Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

My new hot box, hot house, greenhouse, cold frame

Aussie-Garden
Becoming a Leader

My new hot box, hot house, greenhouse, cold frame

20200502_170749.jpg

G'day everyone.

I'm not sure what to actually call this project, as it's based on a cold frame, but it's way bigger than the ones I usually see.

As always, I was on a small budget, so all the wood and Colorbond are scraps and  left overs from other projects and these dictated the size of the frame, as I pretty much went with measurements based on the items I had.

My wife  did purchase elbows and end caps for the poly pipe that I had already, a metal door handle, bungee straps, 3 hinges and saddle clips from Bunnings. I love click and collect!

I have no experience in making things like this and I didn't have a plan, so I just went with what I had and it kind of evolved as I went along. I did look online for ideas beforehand.

If I've done this right, the photos should have captions.

20200426_152514.jpg20200427_170812.jpg20200428_172028.jpg20200428_172202.jpg20200428_174006.jpg20200502_170442.jpg20200502_170500.jpg20200502_170532.jpg20200502_170749.jpg20200502_171546.jpg20200508_162702.jpg

The drums are insides of old washing machines. I am experimenting and seeing if I can grow sweet potatoes and potatoes in this environment as it gets colder here.

EDIT - I forgot to mention that I only have to remove a few screws at the front and front plastic panel folds back so I can remove the big tubs and put them back whenever I want.

MitchellMc
Bunnings Team Member
Bunnings Team Member

Re: My new Hot box, Hot house, Greenhouse, Cold Frame.

Hi @Aussie-Garden.

What a fantastic project! How extremely resourceful of you to be working with what you have and no doubt you now have a very functional hothouse as the result.

I look forward to seeing how the sweet potatoes go and what sized crop you get from them.