Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

Work bench ideas

Tradiepro
Just Starting Out

Work bench ideas

Hi guys, I am new to this and wanted to build a workbench for basi everyday things to carving spear guns and doing wood work and I wanted to build a workbench soon so I can start selling my spear guns again has anyone got any ideas of what to do 

kel
Making a Splash

Re: Work bench ideas

hi @Tradiepro

for a quick workbench,weld up a steel table frame using 3mm,inch tube.rectangular top,leg height to suit you and brace the legs then just screw  on a top.which could be mdf,chipboard or an old door.the top can be sacrificial,that way you can screw into it when clamping projects etc and renew when necessary.

once you have this,then you can think about designing and building a proper workbench to suit your specific needs.

my main work bench is made from 4x4 for the legs,4x2 for the framing and garden sleepers for the top which are bolted to the frame and  were leveled with a plane.i made 3 drawers  added a woodwork vice and a shelf underneath to store my tablesaw etc and doors to keep the sawdust out.i have a bench grinder bolted to one end and my drill press up the other end,as you can imagine,it is very stable.i get a lot of use out of both benches but i do most of my projects on the smaller bench due to its sacrifical top.if i want to rout something that i can't clamp down ,i just screw scrapboards around it to the table to hold the piece in place,anyway,thers a couple ideas for you.

cheers kel

Brad
Kind of a Big Deal

I have a Kreg style bench under construction and I am looking at making an Armor style bench as a downdraft sanding and routing table. At least adding the dust collection box underneath will save me the $90 postage on Kreg dog clamps that have a adaptor to screw up under the table.

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi @Tradiepro,