Workshop
Ask a question

The Bunnings Workshop community can help with your home improvement projects.

What was the first tool you ever bought?

Jason
Community Manager
Community Manager

What was the first tool you ever bought?

Here on Workshop we want to create an inclusive, welcoming community where anyone feels like they can seek help, including absolute beginners. After all, everyone has to start from somewhere. 

Today I thought it would be fun to take you back to when your D.I.Y. or gardening journey was just beginning.

What was the first tool you ever bought or were given?

Jason

Man-With-Tools1.jpg

See something interesting? Give it the thumbs up!
Mick0s
Having an Impact

Re: What was the first tool you ever bought?

All right, I'll kick this one off.

That's a tough one, but I *think* mine probably would have been a cordless drill (from memory, a $30 Ozito bright orange and purple one).

It was primarily bought when I was looking at turning an old arcade cabinet into a functioning one, but that Idea was abandoned after little progress, and replaced by building a cocktail style one from scratch, cue the purchase of a few more tools like mitre boxes, saws etc.

And in no time at all**...

Arcade_Final_place.jpg

** no time at all = quite a lot of time

Sadly, due to lack of room, that marvellous piece of engineering has now moved on to a better place where someone will love him hopefully as much as I did, and a replacement will eventually be build to replace the void that now exists in my life.

The drill was absolutely worth $30 i paid fr it, and not a buck more, but it did the job at the time.  has since been replaced by the Makita LXT Drill / Driver set, which I am very happy with, but just need some 3Amp batteries! :laugh:

Wayne
Becoming a Leader

I guess my DIY journey started as a teenager still living at home with my parents and using the tools that the family had.